A Letter to Corlears Parents

Dear Corlears parents:

Ever since starting library school people have told me how their school librarian changed their life. Maybe they were given just the right book that helped them through a tough time. Sometimes they found in the librarian a caring, nonjudgmental adult that they could come to with their questions. Other times it was the space itself that provided solace, a quiet place where they could explore their individual interests or re-read old favorites.

I am beyond excited to play this role in the lives of Corlears students. An inveterate bookworm since before I could read, it is fitting that my first job was at Barnes and Noble, the summer I turned sixteen. I worked there throughout high school and college, and while in between jobs after college.For the last two years of my ten-year career I was the lead bookseller in the children’s department at the Park Slope store, a location known for its kid-centered atmosphere. Library school was the obvious next step, especially since Queens College offered a certification in children’s and youth services. While in school I worked in the libraries of the Nightingale-Bamford School, and afterwards as the leave replacement librarian at the Loyola School.

Thanks to these practical experiences combined with my education, I have a lot of ideas about how to make the library an exciting and vital part of the Corlears community. My vision for the year encompasses three overarching goals, relating to the library’s physical collection, the library’s academic curricula, and the social, emotional and intellectual wellbeing of the students.

The Corlears library has a strong collection that I am eager to build and expand upon. Of course I will remain current with new picture books, novels, and non-fiction books, as well as reference materials and electronic resources. I also plan on reviewing the collection carefully and strengthening areas that need it, with input and guidance from faculty and staff and, of course, parents. Furthermore, Health and Wellness is a very important focus for Corlears, and I am excited to help build a long-lasting resource of information children, faculty and parents can access for years to come. As an ethical librarian I believe in providing information from a wide range of perspectives and belief structures, and I plan on using diverse materials and techniques to encourage critical thinking skills in young people.

My academic goals for this year follow this trend. Most of my lesson plans do not center around teaching students what to think—rather, I see my role as helping teach them how to think, how to ask big questions and come up with their own answers. In my experience, even the youngest children can come to an understanding of complex issues when they are framed in age-appropriate language. Of course, these larger issues will be combined with traditional literacy and research skills. We will be working closely with the technology instructor, since those subjects are inextricably linked. We will also cover information literacy skills relating to libraries, including how to use reference materials, how to find physical items using an online catalog, and how to assess a resource’s currency, accuracy and relevance.

However, a fantastic collection and stellar curricula are only worthwhile if the students utilizing them feel safe and supported in the library. To that end at the start of the year students will create library guidelines, with my input along with an understanding of the broader Corlears guidelines. I cannot magically create a perfect conflict-free zone, nor would I want to, as working through problems together provides invaluable lessons about integrity and empathy. However, as an adult advocate for all my students, I can ensure that the library is a place where they will get their needs met, and I will work collaboratively with students to ensure that everyone is treated with a basic level of respect. I hope to create an environment where students are able to take risks and explore new ideas, but also give them the space to take comfort and solace in the familiar if that is what they need that day. Lastly, I will provide an atmosphere where all members of the Corlears community can check out any book, access any resource, and ask any question, with the knowledge that their information needs will be addressed with respect and discretion.

As a community space, the library is first and foremost there to meet the educational and recreational needs of Corlears students. The library also includes a wide selection of books geared towards parents and educators that I hope to increase in circulation. As a librarian, I consider it my vocation to match readers to books, to teach important research skills, and to inspire both creativity and curiosity. I can’t wait to begin.

Best,

Kyle Lukoff

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment